Shameless self-promotion

Recently I was contacted by Carolyn Semedo of The Enterprising Moms. She was working on creating some educational offerings for her members, and one of the members suggested she talk to me about speaking with her group.

When we talked, she asked if I would be willing to create a case-study to use as a presentation. She suggested I work with one of the members, and then we could jointly present the before / during / and after of the work. And, being a smart, savvy businesswoman, she volunteered herself!

Well, she has been blogging about her experience. (Excerpted below)

A few of the key points that really shifted my thinking …

  • I’m a highly visual person. If a thing is not in my line of vision, it’s likely to fall off my radar. What I learned is that my visual cues (polite term for ‘overflowing step file holders’) are overstimulating and overwhelming; and that there are more visually appealing and less stress-inducing ways of keeping track of active projects. Music to my ears!
  • Many of the systems I have in place are well thought can work well for me, once I work out all of the kinks. For instance, I have numerous email accounts to help me keep track of different types of email (bills, personal, shopping, business, admin, networking, etc.). While some people use filters, I chose different accounts. My system for separating email works, but the way I process my email doesn’t. I’m working with Terry to implement a system to process my in-box and keep it empty.
  • Most of the projects I’m working on require large chunks of time, something I rarely have. Terry helped me to shift how I think about my projects and my progress on them. By breaking projects up into smaller tasks, scheduling blocks of time for tasks (even as little as 15 minutes) and using a timer to keep me on task, I can make steady progress and achieve a sense of accomplishment while working towards completion.
  • I don’t have to start from scratch. Terry explores how I work, what works well, and then works with me to put structures in place that support the way I work. So, it’s not about implementing a canned system, but building a system that works with my work flow.

Read the before post here.

Read the rest of the excerpted post here.

I love my clients!

Leave a Reply

