100 day challenge

by Terry Monaghan, September 19, 2012

September 23 marks 100 days to the end of the year.  This can be good news or bad news – depending on your perspective.

You have 100 days to hit the goals you set for yourself in January. How are you doing with them?

  • Some of you are on target – good for you! Keep going.
  • Some of you are ahead – fantastic! Don’t stop now!
  • Some of you are behind – time to focus…

What do you think is possible for the last 100 days of the year? Are you interested in a possible breakthrough in productivity?

Here is a simple exercise you can do to review your goals and planning, ensure that you get things done, and build in some work-life balance. This is an exercise I worked through myself just this past weekend. Here goes!

I took some time over the weekend to look at my projections, my goals for the year, and my results so far. Guess what? I am behind the very ambitious target I set for myself. So – I looked at the gap between where I am and where I want to be, and explored various scenarios to close the gap. Then I set all that aside and just asked myself what do I really want to focus on for the next 100 days?

That gave me some other scenarios to play with. One of the ways I play is to go to my forecasting spreadsheet and start plugging in numbers representing the people I want to work with. I don’t look at the totals until I have all the numbers plugged in.

Honestly, I wasn’t very aggressive with the numbers of people I was putting in to the model. However, the total business blew me away! I can easily do twice as much again as I have already done this year.

Those of you who have been reading my blog for a while know that I then take those people targeted and break the result (over which I have no control) down into the actions (over which I have TOTAL control). Turns out that to do what I drew out will require me to have 50 conversations each month – 2 conversations a day, average. And I wasn’t even put off by the fact that it was already mid-September. After all I could reach the 50 conversation target by having just 5 conversations each day. That isn’t out of reach!

Now here’s my challenge to you. Take some time to think. Look at what you have already accomplished this year. Look at what you would like to get done that isn’t yet done. Create a game for yourself! How many conversations would you need to have to get there? And how many is that per day? Will you do that? When will you set aside time to make those calls?

I guarantee you will see some spectacular results if you take those very simple steps.

 

© Terry Monaghan, 2012 ~ All Rights Reserved

Want to use this article in your ezine or website? You can, as long as you include this complete blurb with it:

Consultant, coach, speaker, trainer and entrepreneur, Terry Monaghan, publishes Now What, an ezine for entrepreneurs and professionals who want to double their productivity, improve their performance, and have a life! If you’re ready to jump start your performance and your results, then get your free tips now at www.TimeTriage.com.

 

8 Responses to 100 day challenge

  1. Sue Painter says:

    What I love about this post is that you step up to your own goals in a hyper-responsible way. Breaking things down makes it ohhhhh so much more doable! Good for you!

  2. Love this – actually makes things feel not so overwhelming!

  3. Ellen Martin says:

    This is great advice. I love this technique. I am going to try it out on a big project that I have going on right now. Thanks so much for sharing.

  4. 100 days is doable! This is the perfect time to assess where you’re at in terms of your goals and make the adjustments needed to your plan of action – Breaking it down to the simplest forms on action are critical – I heard Debbie Delgado speak this past week and she said something so simple it was profound: “Be the cause of the effect you want to see.”

Leave a Reply

